A few tweeks to… Oscar Night America 2012

Warning! This is a post mostly dedicated to how excited I was to be asked to run social media for KSPR News at their annual event, Oscar Night America. I was asked by the Community Relations woman for KY3 and KSPR to run the Twitter and Facebook feed for the night and I could not have said no, in fact, I said yes.

I’ve included a link that will describe the purpose of Oscar Night America and who it benefit and the fancy details of being able to host such an event in Springfield, Missouri. But I will be writing about my take and my opinions on how the evening was ran and what I thought of its execution. I personally know 2 of the women who serve on the planning committee so I promise I will not use specific names in my post.

1. The Perfect venue Chosen to host Oscar Night America was the Juanite K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts located right off Missouri State’s campus. It’s a gorgeous hall and the perfect location for the event. The only set back I saw in having Oscar Night America here was the size of the theatre. It’s a huge theatre and probably cost the planning committee a lot of money to rent and I was so sad to see the theatre under utilized due to all the hustle and bustle going on in the house of the hall with the food and drink vendors. Perhaps the event could have been hosted in a venue with a smaller theatre to save some money because the amount of seats in the theatre were under utilized.

2. Hearding Cats- Invited to attend this event was some of Springfield’s most elite and well-known persons which truly did make it a red carpet event for Springfield. There was a real red carpet lined with press and cameras wanting to snag an interview with everyone and even a real Oscar from a past winner who calls Springfield home. The draw back to having so many guests is the inability to make them all gather in one location. With 10 or so enticing food and drink vendors placed about the hall it was almost impossible to reach each attendee. Plus the fact that some showed late. I would have made sure there was a working microphone system throughout the hall that could be used by a host to inform guests of when the Oscars were starting or when was the appropriate time to join the evening’s hosts in the theatre. Just something to announce over a loud-speaker to grab everyone’s attention.

Let me state, that these are simply just suggestions that I came up with throughout the course of the night. Oscar Night America was a GREAT success and my comments are not to be taken in consideration that the night wasn’t anything but. I fully enjoyed myself and cannot wait to see the future successes this event will carry in years to come.

http://articles.kspr.com/2012-02-20/oscar-night-america_31081333

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

